top of page
  • Writer's pictureliattyy

How to Make Dalgona Coffee or "Whipped Coffee"?



You’ve probably been seeing “dalgona coffee” and “whipped coffee” all over social media...since this is currently one of the hottest quarantine trends. If you haven’t come across it yet, let me be the first to tell you that this coffee is absolutely delicious and worth the hype. With Starbucks being closed, I am going a little crazy and missing my taste coffee-shop iced vanilla lattes. The best part about dalgona coffee is that you can make it right from your home...and it’s fairly simple. I’m here to tell you how.






What You’ll Need:

-2 tablespoons instant coffee (any kind works, but my favorite is @WakaCoffee Instant Coffee)

-2 tablespoons sugar (can be brown, white, coconut, any kind)

-2 tablespoons boiling water

-2 cups of milk (any kind works: regular, almond, oat, soy)

-a hand-held mixer is preferred (easiest way), but a whisk or spoon can work too. 

The Simple Steps:

  1. In a small mixing bowl, combine the instant coffee, sugar, and boiling water.

  2. Immediately start mixing with the electric mixer / hand-held mixer, whisk, or spoon.

  • With an hand-held mixer, it should take about 5 minutes to turn into a light and frothy texture.

  • With a whisk (which is the method that I use), it takes about 8 minutes...be prepared to get a nice arm workout in!! I also recommend asking another friend/family/partner to help you whisk because it does get hard/tiring. While whisking, use a zig zag motion and a circular motion to help speed up the process.

  • With a spoon, I have heard that it’s possible, but it takes much much longer and I have never personally tried it. 

3. You can stop when your texture is fluffy, thick, and looks something like this:

4. Fill 2 glasses with ice cubes and any milk (I use almond milk) and leave about an inch from the top of the glass.

5. Then use a spoon to pour the whipped coffee mixture on top.

6. Get a cute pic for the gram, then mix and enjoy!!!!


The step-by-step process is also available on my IG page under the highlight: "DALGONA" or on my TikTok video, here's the link: https://www.tiktok.com/@liattyy/video/6817248134121442565


Where To Get The Supplies:

Instant coffee:

  • I first used Nescafe Taster’s Choice Instant Coffee, which worked really well. However, I did not love the flavor of the coffee as much and it did not compare to my usual coffee shop coffee flavor.

  • Shop Nescafe Taster's Choice Here

  • I decided to try out @WakaCofffee since it was created on the idea that everyone should be able enjoy tasty coffee effortlessley! Waka Coffee sources only 100% Arabica beans instant coffee, which are commonly used in coffee shops, to provide the best taste. The beans are freeze dried to best preserve the coffee’s aroma and depth of flavor. This high quality instant coffee solution requires no expensive coffee equipment but still allows you to have enjoyable coffee. I used the Light Roast Instant Coffee which is available in multiple sized bags and in single-serve bundles.

  • Shop Waka Coffee here!

Mixer:

Hand mixers are the best solution to a quick and easy whipped coffee. If you invest in one of these, you will save yourself lots of time + energy with the whisking/mixing!

There are a ton of whisks available on Amazon/Target, but here are a few!


I hope this blog post was helpful, so that you can now enjoy a delicious cup of Dalgona Coffee...and If you decide to try it out, make sure to tag me so I can see your creations!


- @liattyy

217 views0 comments
bottom of page